Watering my birds

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by Matt-B, Aug 2, 2010.

1. Matt-B

Matt-B In the Brooder

Jul 28, 2010
    West Lafayette
    Hello all,

I'm new to chicken farming and still trying to figure out this watering thing.

Do chickens need anything special? I've been using a 3 gallon bucket and filling it to within a few inches of the top. They seem to look over the edge and get a drink when they need it. They have access to it in their coop 24/7 and I replace/refill the water ever day or so. They are free ranging without a fence from sun up to sun down if that makes a difference. They also have access to a 0"- 6" (shallow) creek, but they haven't ventured down the ravine to it yet.

By the way, we got our first egg yesterday. It was small, but green!

2. elmo

elmo Songster

May 23, 2009
    DFW
    Water is extremely important to laying hens. The problem with using a plain bucket is that the water level will dip down below where a chicken can reach it easily. And a bucket can be easily knocked over, leaving your chickens without water. Why not spend a couple of dollars and get a waterer designed for chickens?

http://www.randallburkey.com/Gallon-Waterer-W_-Twist-On-Base/productinfo/4476/

Last edited: Aug 2, 2010
  3. lleighmay

lleighmay Songster

May 21, 2008
    Woodlawn, VA
    The other problem with a bucket is that one could fall in and drown. Even if it's a large chicken if it gets in there face-first it probably won't be able to turn around and save itself. I second the advice to buy a chicken waterer (the large plastic ones aren't that expensive).

4. Matt-B

Matt-B In the Brooder

Jul 28, 2010
    West Lafayette
    Is it possible to make a waterer out of a five gallon bucket with a lid? With some sort of automatic nipple on the bottom?

5. teach1rusl

teach1rusl Love My Chickens