Watering very small flock

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by ctchopper, Mar 2, 2014.

1. ctchopper

ctchopper Out Of The Brooder

Mar 2, 2014
    Acton, CA
    I'm new to raising chickens. So new, I don't even have them yet! I bought a metal feeder but, after tending to a neighbor's hens a few times, want something that will keep water cleaner. There is so much information on this site that I am thankful for, but I'm having trouble with choosing a watering system. I keep thinking that something like a giant rodent waterer (not the ball type but the kind that has a small reservoir at the bottom) that could hang off the side and be too narrow for them to try to roost on seems good but I haven't seen one. Which means there might be a flaw in my idea.

Narrow seems good because the run, now in process of being built, is only 3 x 10 and I'd like to not take up any more space than necessary. There will only be 3 hens. Has anyone seen this approach? Other suggestions? Very much appreciated.

2. Kelsie2290

Kelsie2290 True BYC Addict Premium Member

Feb 18, 2011
    Ohio
  3. Hooligans7

Hooligans7 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 30, 2012
    North-central Arkansas
    ctchopper, your choice depends on your climate as well. A great choice in south Florida could be totally impractical in Minnesota and Missouri, so, in what state do you live? Also, you want to obtain chickens that are well suited to your local climate extremes.

4. ctchopper

Mar 2, 2014
    Acton, CA