WAZINE........now what happens?

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Suzi18, Jun 26, 2017.

1. Suzi18

Suzi18 Free Ranging

Apr 4, 2017
    Sandusky Ohio
    I'm fairly new to raising chickens and just had my first experience with worms. I just treated with Wazine yesterday after finding a pile of roundworms under the roost. I'm just curious....what happens now? Will I have the pleasure of cleaning up more worm piles? How will the chickens react to the worming....does it have any negative effects that I should watch for? How long til the Wazine kills the little disgusting creatures? :sick

2. coach723

coach723 Crowing

Feb 12, 2015
    North Florida
    Beckaberry likes this.
  3. DakotaDreamer

DakotaDreamer Chirping

May 1, 2017
    I have never had any problems with my hens after treating with wazine. You will most likely get a few more wormy piles but mostly it is killing the worm eggs and you won't see that in the poop. It seems to work fairly quick but there is an egg withdrawal period so be sure to toss those eggs for the next few weeks. I believe it is 3 week withdrawal but I would double check that. Good luck with the worming.

4. Suzi18

Suzi18 Free Ranging

Apr 4, 2017
    Sandusky Ohio
    thank you both! Just wanted to mentally prepare myself if I was going to face more piles of worms. Ick

5. Beckaberry

Beckaberry Chirping 6 Years

Jun 12, 2012
    Glen Mills, PA
    I'm just about to step into the world of roundworm infestation for the first time today. I've dealt with all types of illnesses and injuries, but never worms. Just picked up my wazine yesterday at the Tractor Supply and am going to go dose the ladies.
    Question though, I free range them (with electric fence). How do I treat their area in case worms are lurking in the soil?