We adopted some chickens but I don't know their breeds!

peacefulpuls8

In the Brooder
Feb 9, 2016
Hey everyone! I am sure you get this question daily, but I'm fairly new to chicken breeds (we've only had Ameraucanas, red sex links, white leghorns, buff Orpingtons, Delawares, and welsummers) and would love your expertise on determining which breed these new chickens are that we got. We adopted them from a sanctuary in Utah and most of them are still laying. I've attached some pictures and appreciate your help figuring these breeds out!

Last edited:
My guess would be that the second picture is a golden laced Wyandotte, seventh a silver laced Wyandotte, fourth and last look like easter eggers. And the sixth picture with the red hen with a black tail is probably a Rhode Island red. Hard to guess what the others might be.

Last edited:
My guess would be that the second picture is a golden laced Wyandotte, seventh a silver laced Wyandotte, fourth and last look like easter eggers. And the sixth picture with the red hen with a black tail is probably a Rhode Island red. Hard to guess what the others might be.

I would agree with this. In the first picture, I'm not quite sure, but it looks like maybe a Cornish. And in the 6 picture the one with the white head looks like a Cornish mix. The third pic looks like a Black Australorps. Hope this helps!

Dark Cornish Mix? I woudn't call her a pure Cornish because of her comb.
Golden Laced Wyandotte
Black Australorp maybe? Her leg and feet color would be helpful to clearly identify her.
Easter Egger
Better pic from the side with better lighting would help. Right now I'm thinking some kind of red sex-link?
On the left: Red laced White Cornish. Right: Production Red (Production Rhode Island Reds). She's not dark enough to be a Heritage RIR.
Silver Laced Wyandotte.
Easter Egger

Last edited:
Thank you everyone!! @chickluvinfreak @henny1129 @chickencraz @donrae Here are some better shots of the few some of you said you weren't sure on.