We adopted some chickens but I don't know their breeds!

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by peacefulpuls8, Sep 11, 2016.

1. peacefulpuls8

peacefulpuls8 Out Of The Brooder

Feb 9, 2016
    Hey everyone! I am sure you get this question daily, but I'm fairly new to chicken breeds (we've only had Ameraucanas, red sex links, white leghorns, buff Orpingtons, Delawares, and welsummers) and would love your expertise on determining which breed these new chickens are that we got. We adopted them from a sanctuary in Utah and most of them are still laying. I've attached some pictures and appreciate your help figuring these breeds out!
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Last edited: Sep 11, 2016
  2. chickluvinfreak

chickluvinfreak Chillin' With My Peeps

My guess would be that the second picture is a golden laced Wyandotte, seventh a silver laced Wyandotte, fourth and last look like easter eggers. And the sixth picture with the red hen with a black tail is probably a Rhode Island red. Hard to guess what the others might be.

3. henny1129

henny1129 Crazy Livestock Gal

I would agree with this. In the first picture, I'm not quite sure, but it looks like maybe a Cornish. And in the 6 picture the one with the white head looks like a Cornish mix. The third pic looks like a Black Australorps. Hope this helps!

4. henny1129

henny1129 Crazy Livestock Gal

Pretty girls by the way!

5. chickencraz

chickencraz Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 21, 2015
    Washington State

1 person likes this.
  6. donrae

donrae Hopelessly Addicted Premium Member

Jun 18, 2010
    Southern Oregon
    Agree with chickencraz

7. peacefulpuls8

Feb 9, 2016
    Thank you everyone!! @chickluvinfreak @henny1129 @chickencraz @donrae Here are some better shots of the few some of you said you weren't sure on.