We can't tell for sure hen or roo?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by fleenorfarmmom, May 4, 2008.

1. fleenorfarmmom

fleenorfarmmom Out Of The Brooder

Mar 9, 2008
    Blountville, Tn
    I am relatively new to chickens but have been kinda dumb my whole life. We've had chickens for years but never had one quite like Large Marge. She fights and acts like a rooster. She has never laid an egg. She looks like a girl but...? She is a Delaware/Wyandotte mutt but we just don't know. She is shaped like a rooster, if that makes any sense. She is hard to catch but I guess we need to look at her backend and figure out what we are looking at. We have some bonafide hens that we can compare too I guess. I just figured you all would get a kick out of dumb story. I really enjoy this forum and reading about other peoples maladies and mis-combobulations. Now I have my very own.

2. firebugfab

firebugfab Out Of The Brooder

May 3, 2008
    Texas
    Quote:THank you so much for your post! I feel so much better now! You are experienced and can't tell! I got my first two chickens of my life 7 weeks ago and I haven't a clue what they are. I knew it was luck of the draw when I bought them from tractor supply, but how old are RIR's before you can tell? How do you tell early? I know how to tell once they are grown but not at 7 weeks. Is there a way? I don't mean this to hijack your thread, I'm just really hoping for pullets.

3. Chirpy

Chirpy Balderdash

May 24, 2007
    Colorado
    If you have one of each you should be able to tell pretty soon. One (Roo) will develop a larger, redder comb and wattle sooner than the other one.

If they are both the same sex, that makes it harder as they will develop pretty much the same. If their combs are very light colored and small at this point then I'd 'hope' that they are girls.

I know this wasn't really a help to you ... seven weeks is still young.

4. Nichole77

Nichole77 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 14, 2007
    Arizona