We need to talk about genetic safety in imported breeds

call ducks

silver appleyard addict
13 Years
Mar 4, 2009
waterville , canada
Hey Folks,

First i am not an expert in genetics, but i am learning fast.. After a phone call with a great breeder friend we got talking about the genetic strength of these imported breeds. And if we can not do ennough to preserve North American breeds, and the breeds we have now should we really be importing more breeds?

Let me start by saying if you are really willing to breed these imported breeds good for ya! I do not mean to say that importing breeds is bad, i am not saying it is good ether. i well start with explaining now.