Weak and Fragile Baby Chicken

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by ChickieBabyMama, Feb 14, 2013.

1. ChickieBabyMama

ChickieBabyMama Out Of The Brooder

Feb 13, 2013
    Mid West
    I have a 3 day old baby Sebright. The baby is so small and is half the size of the rest of the babies. She is weak and sleeps a lot. It scares me that when she's like this, she will not eat/drink on her own. I give her water and egg whites and has access to Chick Starter food. She perks up for a while and all is well, then she slips back. Suggestions needed and appreciated. I'm new to raising chicks.

2. howfunkyisurchicken

howfunkyisurchicken Overrun With Chickens

Apr 11, 2011
    Tn
    If you want to have a chance at keeping her alive, you're going to have to work at it. I ordered chicks from a hatchery and received one that was half the size of the others and lethargic when I opened the box. I fed her some started mixed really wet with a dropper a few times the first day I had her and she perked up. So, I thought she was good to feed herself. Woke up the next morning to find her lethargic again. I ended up syringe feeding her every hour and a half to two hours for almost a week. I'm home all day, so had time to do it. She did eventually become strong enough to feed herself, but it was ALOT of work. If you dont have that kind of time to dedicate to your chick, the kindest thing may be to cull her so she doesn't starve. Good luck.
    Nikki

Last edited: Feb 14, 2013
  3. Panth

Panth Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 5, 2012
    Indiana
    My usual chick-rescue is Pedialyte instead of water, Poly-V-Sol (without Iron), and egg yolk...forget the whites - they don't have as many nutrients. You can drip some of the Poly-V-Sol on its beak and it should swallow...if it is very weak and not eating at all, it is easiest to jab its beak in some raw egg yolk instead of cooking it. Make sure she is a little extra warm and keep her bottom clean.

4. ChickieBabyMama

Feb 13, 2013