Weak Chicken

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by marinaD, Aug 15, 2013.

1. marinaD

marinaD New Egg

Aug 15, 2013
    Hello! This is my first time posting here, but I've enjoyed reading helpful posts here in the past. We have 5 backyard chickens, and other than predators (a sneaky bobcat), have had an easy time raising chickens the past couple of years.

We bought three 5-week old chickens from a local farm in June. They are now around 3 months old. In the last few weeks we have noticed one of the Easter Eggers hasn't developed as quickly as the others. She's much smaller than the other EE and hasn't gotten her "adult voice" like the other two have- she still peeps. Her tail and wings often seem droopy and I have never seen her run like the others. She walks slowly and doesn't protest at all when the kids hold her. She isn't lethargic, but I've never seen a chicken this mellow before.

Amy advice is very appreciated. Thank you!

Little Ms Peepers is eating, drinking, and pooping well.

Does this sound like any sort of developmental delay, muscular, worm or parasite issue you've heard of? Should I take her to the vet?

Here's what I mean regarding the droopy wings, and they are not always like this:
    [​IMG]

She will literally take a nap with the kids...
    [​IMG]

2. Mr MKK FARMS

Mr MKK FARMS Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

Sep 27, 2012
    Welcome to BYC! Glad you joined us! [​IMG]

3. BantamFan4Life

BantamFan4Life Out of the Woods Premium Member

Jun 15, 2012
    Washington
    Welcome to BYC!

4. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture