1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Weasel or Mink???

Discussion in 'Predators and Pests' started by Silkie Sue, Jun 10, 2011.

1. Silkie Sue

Silkie Sue Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 23, 2007
    Sarnia, Ontario
    Anyone know what this little chicken killer is????
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]
    the trap is a small rat size trap. for a size reference that is a sardine can in with her.

this little critter killed 14 of my birds on Sunday morning. 5 baby ducks, 2 polish babies , 6 Silkie hens and 1 rooster and critically injured another, who i am happy to report is healing very well.

This one will never kill again.... [​IMG]

2. Tam'ra of Rainbow Vortex

Tam'ra of Rainbow Vortex Chillin' With My Peeps

I'm not an expert, but I'd say mink.
    I visited a mink farm years ago and I remember them looking like that. You should skin it and WEAR it. If I catch the thing getting my chicks, I'm taking its skin.

3. aprophet

aprophet Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 12, 2010
    chesapeake Va.
    the mink I have trapped their noses are not as pointy as what is shown in the last piccy they weigh 3-5 pounds too I doubt they could fit in a hava heart that small google mink then click on the images tab

4. Silkie Sue

Jun 23, 2007
    Sarnia, Ontario
    Tam'ra of Rainbow Vortex :

I'm not an expert, but I'd say mink.
    I visited a mink farm years ago and I remember them looking like that. You should skin it and WEAR it. If I catch the thing getting my chicks, I'm taking its skin.

i buried the tick infested, stinkin little sonofa.......​

5. Sachasmom

Sachasmom Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 1, 2009
    Upstate NY