Weekend hatch watch...double broody orloffs, need advice!

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by savingdogs, Aug 19, 2010.

1. savingdogs

savingdogs Chillin' With My Peeps

Chicken newbie here ready to have my first mama-hatches-eggs with my year-old hens.
    So I have these two Russian orloff hens who went persistently broody together a few months ago, literally (they are thin). I had to arrange an area for them which took me some time to figure out. I put them in the seperate little house together on their nest boxes, which is where they have been sitting on their eggs. They have always been the best of friends and are shunned by the rest so they like being isolated and their spot is actually shady and nice. So FINALLY their moment is coming....they have been daydreaming about chicks for awhile now I think and have their dream home.

I have these questions:

1. Could they abandon nest number two when nest number one hatches possibly? Is there anything I could do for those eggs if so short of buying an incubator? Do have ice chest, heat lamp, brooder stuff, etc.

2. Will they peck at the chicks from the other bird? They have switched nest boxes several times so I don't know how territorial they feel about the boxes but they may feel different about the chicks. They are non-violent and just let the main flock chickens peck at them all the time when they are with the flock so I can't really picture these two being that way.

3. How do I transition them from nest box to something they can get in and out of easily to get to their food and water. Do I wait until they all hatch first? Won't mama squish the hatched ones?

4. One egg was kinda thrown out by one of the hens and was way, way across the enclosure like they didn't like it...does that mean anything? I have not candled the eggs. I could tell by the color it was an egg I wasn't as sure about (possibly a duck egg). When I cracked it it seemed to have been developing.