Weird Management Questions

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by defenderinfaith, Apr 11, 2017.

1. defenderinfaith

defenderinfaith Out Of The Brooder

Jun 30, 2016
    Southern New Mexico
    Okay so I'm still rather new at this even though we've had birds for 3 years now.
    We currently have 58 birds [only 1 adult rooster atm]
    - 8 Cochin (babies)
    - 2 Silver Leghorns (babies)
    - 11 White Leghorns (3 adults 8 teens)
    - 2 Rhode Island Reds (adults 1 hen 1 rooster)
    - 2 Rhode Island Whites (teens)
    - 3 Black Sex Link
    - 4 Bantams...we think..... (babies)
    - 1 Gold Sex link (adult)
    - 1 Asian Black (adult)
    - 8 Americanas (teens)
    - 1 Partridge Rock (adult)
    - 3 Sussex Speckled (teens)
    - 2 Buff Orpingtons (teens)
    - 6 Barred Rocks (teen -3suspected roosters to be)
    - 1 New Hampshire Red (adult)
    - 1 1/2 Rhode Island Red ...1/2...um light brown egg layer mama
    - 2 Swedish Blue Ducks (adults)
    ----------------------
    so questions are

1) we've tried 72 eggs in the incubator in the past 3 months. the second batch we were hands off, temp/humidity strictly monitored, 5 of 17 eggs hatched, 1 has survived, our chickens we found that were eating locoweed and red pig weed, the 12 eggs that didn't hatch showed almost complete growth but they were all dead. is this a feed/food issue or should we be worried about a genetic issue with rooster/hens? they were all raised together.

2) should we separate the Cochin when they are adults to brood or leave them with the rest of the flock?

3) is there a name for halfling offspring or are they just "chickens" lol just wondering

4)do certain rooster only go after certain hens or do they go for whatever female they can reach? (we're currently 1 roo for 10 hens)

5) I know chickens aren't "got to catch them all" but are their any breeds that don't work well together or are they just -whatever man- ?