weird question for a newbie...

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Shellyb, May 5, 2009.

1. Shellyb

Shellyb Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 25, 2009
    So, I am new to all of this and have been learning so much from this site. So my question is this, after raising these chickens as pets and eggs, what happens when they stop laying eggs? I know they can live for a long time but don't lay eggs their whole life (not sure how long). So what does one do when this happens? I won't have room to add many more when that time comes to make up for the eggs. I know this is a weird question and a long time off from now, but curious about what people do. Thanks

2. Heidi

Heidi Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 18, 2007
    Northwest Michigan
    Well I have 4 hens that are 3 years old now. I originally had 8, but sold the other 4 when they were 2. The remaining 4 hens are my favorite so they will live a long happy life. In the past 2 years I've added to my flock about 16 chickens and I'm trying not to get to attached to them. My hope is to just keep selling hens when they are 2 or 3 and then I won't have to think about what to do when they quit laying.

3. cindyanne1

cindyanne1 Mother Goose

Apr 19, 2009
    Central Ohio
    I've thought of this too. With a farmer for a husband I can't see us hanging on to 20 -25 chickens that are doing nothing but eating and not really laying eggs any more, but neither my husband nor I are into the butchering thing. There's a man around here who will kill and dress chickens for $2 a bird and we'll probably go that route and then start the flock over from scratch.

Still not sure though... if it wasn't for the fact that I keep reading to not mix old and new hens I'd say we would cull half the flock at age 3 years, then get new ones... then the following year cull the rest of the old flock and get new ones to replace those... and repeat that cycle. Guess we'll just have to wait and see.

4. Shellyb