Well built coop

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by califrame, Jan 17, 2017.

1. califrame

califrame Just Hatched

Dec 30, 2016
    So i am a bit of a newbie and a big Craig'slist deal maker. I bought a brand new coop from a guy and assembled it and have found out that its not made from the best quality wood. I live in San Diego and we just had abut 3 days of rain and the coop got wet and now its starting to warp and splinter pretty bad. Long story short i will need a new one pretty soon. Can someone suggest a good quality coop manufacturer that i can just order one from? I need one to house my 3 hens. I wish i was more wood working inclined but I'm not.. [​IMG]

2. GOLDENSEABRIGHT

GOLDENSEABRIGHT Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 4, 2014
    To me it is cheaper and easier to just build it from scratch and that way you can personalize it too.

1 person likes this.
  3. Al Gerhart

Al Gerhart Out Of The Brooder

Sep 29, 2011
    Oklahoma City
    Man, these coops are so cute and perfect size for people with a couple of hens. What a shame the manufactures can't put another $20.00 in better quality materials but I suppose the cheapest product is what the retailers and re sellers are looking for. If Chinese manufacturer did put good material into the product the re sellers wouldn't buy them because they were too expensive.

I've heard that the wood is very soft but can you back it up with some metal straps like the galvanized ones that Home Depot sells to tie framing components together? Maybe run some 1/4" bolts through plates on both sides? They have L shaped plates, T shaped plates, flat plates, even 90 degree bent plates. Or just bend a T plate around the corners.

If the plywood sides or top are disintegrating I doubt you could paint or seal it to help things. Short of a coating of resin and fiberglass matting anyway. Having someone use the parts as templates and use decent exterior grade plywood to make new parts might work.