Well looks like I got a roo...what now?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by RitzHomestead, Mar 1, 2015.

1. RitzHomestead

RitzHomestead Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 19, 2015
    Marble Hill, GA
    OK, so first off I'm a newbie. I ordered 10 Chick pullets from TSC and I am pretty sure one of my hens is a roo. His comb is bigger than the others and it is turning red. He also is growing those things under his beak too. (sorry don't know what they are called off the top of my head) I don't really mind having a roo, we live in the country with no neighbors but I really only wanted unfertilized eggs.

With 9 other hens how often will a hen get fertilized eggs and have baby chick's? Will I still get a lot of eggs for us to eat? This may be a dumb question but I honestly have no idea, and have not done any research on roos as I was planning on hens. I am attached to the little guy and want to keep him.

2. LRH97

LRH97 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 29, 2013
    Southern Illinois
    Not a dumb question! It's perfectly fine to eat fertilized eggs. I can't tell any difference in taste. The only difference is that if you were to incubate the eggs, or let one of your hens set them, you would get a chick out of it. Note that a hen will only hatch out chicks when she is broody. One roo should not have any problem breeding 9 hens, meaning most, if not all, of your eggs will be fertile. Having a roo should not affect laying production. By the way, the things under the beak are wattles. [​IMG] As long as the roos aren't aggressive to you or too rough on the hens, they can be a pleasure to have around. If you have any other questions please, don't hesitate to ask.

Last edited: Mar 1, 2015
    1 person likes this.
  3. sourland

sourland Broody Magician Premium Member

May 3, 2009
    New Jersey