well pumps anyone

Discussion in 'Random Ramblings' started by jdeoliveira74, Mar 9, 2012.

1. jdeoliveira74

jdeoliveira74 Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 15, 2012
    Hey
    I am having trouble with my well pump and well any one on here have any expertise. I am not a well guy although i understand how it works. I have a 40' deep well I am not sure where the water is as far as height. My pump will turn on and pressurize tank. I can run water for about 30 seconds but then the pump doesnt turn on to fill the tank back up. but if i wait a few it randomly turns on and then i have water again help trying to get garden going and water to my chicken!

2. peepacheep

peepacheep Chillin' With My Peeps

I am no expert but have had well water for over 25 years, stuff has happened ranging from E coli in the water to exploding pipes geysering water through the pump house walls. Never dull when you are your own water department! My first thought with what you described is possibly sediment getting sucked into the pump's intake. It settles out and can start again. Possibly the holding tank needs to draw down more for the pump to refill it. Our system takes a few minutes to kick the pump on. Is there a float to trigger the refill? Another thought is sometimes if the water level drops enough and the pump is now higher up in the water column a whirl pool effect can happen allowing air to get sucked in instead of water. The water out flow would be coughing and sputtering air and water if that happening. How old is the pump? They do not last forever and we count ourselves lucky when a pump gives us a little warning of trouble brewing. Sometimes it is worth rebuilding them sometimes the fastest solution is to get a new one. Hope this is helpful. Good luck! Keep us posted on what you find out.

3. Bear Foot Farm

Bear Foot Farm Overrun With Chickens

Mar 31, 2008
    Grifton NC
    Quote: The pump isn't supposed to come on until the pressure drops to a set level.