Welsh Harlequin Breeding Thread - People who are breeding or want to breed their WH's talk

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by sherylreno, Feb 1, 2012.

1. sherylreno

sherylreno Chillin' With My Peeps

May 13, 2011
    Reno, Nevada
    I have 3 WH's, 1 drake and 2 hens. They all have the same father but might not have the same mother. I'm ready to start breeding them. They just started laying and I'm going to have a friend incubate them for me. This is my first time having eggs incubated and raise the ducklings. 2 ducklings is for a friend on here.

I heard I can either have the hens mate with the father or the drake mate with it's mother but I want to start with my group with these ducks. I was thinking to try it, they most likely do not have the same mother so there is less of a chance of deformities.

Please help me by letting me know how your breeding program is done.

I'm going to keep this thread on going updating it as I go along with my new adventure into duck raising.

1 person likes this.
  2. Ducks and Banny hens

Ducks and Banny hens Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 22, 2011
    On a little Farm.
    I'm getting SWH foundation stock this spring. My breeding program for any bird never involves any sort of inbreeding if I can help it. {Note: Spiral breeding is not considered a form of inbreeding), however, one generation of inbreeding usually does little harm.

1 person likes this.
  3. sherylreno

May 13, 2011
    Reno, Nevada
    I have no other choice at this time and can't do the spiral breeding because this breed is so rare here. I went to a poultry show last weekend and there were none for sale only 4 were being shown. I'm not going to have hatchery ducks either so where can I turn to now?

I have SQ SWH's and I want to keep it that way as well.

I'm learning a lot about breeding now. I didn't know the hen determines what sex the duckling will be. All poultry have WZ chromosomes instead of XY.

Where are you getting your stock from?