1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Welt and Limp

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by RASRanch, Jan 12, 2017.

1. RASRanch

RASRanch New Egg

Jan 10, 2017
    Hey all!

This is my first time posting on this forum, so I would like to introduce myself a bit.

We are a little hobby farm in Western Washington. We used to raise show and milk goats, but we have since just reduced our stock to chickens. (I don't mind all that much!) We have been experimenting with Old English, Araucanas and other bantams to see which breed we like best and what's good for free-range on our current property. We also bought some stock from Greenfire, to use to breed and sell.

The chicken in question in a 5 month old Cream Legbar hen from Greenfire who has recently developed a welt, hard thing on the joint of the top of her leg. She had a slight limp the day before, but I dismissed it as her falling on it funny, looking back I should've checked it out. It got worse today. We treated her for mites a few days ago as she was exhibiting signs of infestation, and replaced the roosts.

I'm not sure what it could be, I'm not very well read in all the chicken ailments. None of the other chickens have been showing symptoms.

2. MasterOfClucker

MasterOfClucker Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 19, 2016
    Iowa
    Pics would be helpful.

Welcome to BYC!

3. Eggcessive

Eggcessive Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio
    Welcome to BYC. Does it feel hard or soft, and is it her joint that is swollen, or something like a cyst? Pictures as said before, would be helpful. You may need to make a few posts to post a picture.

4. RASRanch

RASRanch New Egg

Jan 10, 2017
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]