1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Went to feed chicks in the am found one lethargic! Oh My!!!

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by midsun98, Jul 30, 2011.

1. midsun98

midsun98 New Egg

Jul 30, 2011
    First let me say THANK YOU!, I have been lurching and reading around the forum for a few months now and I have learned tons! THANK YOU!!!
    I do need some help, i cannot find exact help by reading, hoping a fwew more inputs can help

1) What type of bird , age and weight. Silkie Mix, 6 weeks old, 7oz for weight
    2) What is the behavior, exactly. -----lethatgic, wants to keep head tucked, trembeling, not eating
    3) How long has the bird been exhibiting symptoms? was fine last night, feed and watered them at 730 and put them to bed, These chicks are in the basement.
    4) Are other birds exhibiting the same symptoms? ]no, 23 others all ok!
    5) Is there any bleeding, injury, broken bones or other sign of trauma. no
    6) What happened, if anything that you know of, that may have caused the situation. no
    7) What has the bird been eating and drinking, if at all. I have been giving vitamin water by droppper, no interest in food, Her/His crop seems smushy, elarged, seems to be airy.... and empty He/She is very very skinny feeling everywhere, but just 2 days ago when i was cleaning their pen, this one usually jumps up top when cover is opened she/he was fine feeling. not tooo boney..... I was checking the vent to make sure of any obst. but i feel bones sticking out above the vent. . ok so help please? Thanks!!!
    8) How does the poop look? Normal? Bloody? Runny? etc. pooped once this am when i seperated him/her and looked ok...
    9) What has been the treatment you have administered so far? vitamin water.