We're at 24 weeks and no eggs?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Sappysgirls, Nov 8, 2014.

1. Sappysgirls

Sappysgirls New Egg

Jul 21, 2014
    First off I'm new to having chickens and so far it's been great and we love our girls. They just turned 24 weeks this weekend and I have no eggs yet...and they have started to roost in the nesting boxes! I let the free range during the day...I've been checking around to make sure they are not laying I around the house...any words of wisdom for a newbie?

2. Alaskan

Alaskan The Frosted Flake

Well, depending on the breed.... 24 weeks is the perfect time to start laying, BUT it is now fall.

(If you are in the Northern hemisphere)

So, each day is shorter than the last. Some breeds are much more sensitive to this than others....

Sooooooooooo

They take much longer to mature in the dark days of fall, and sometimes wont lay at all until spring time.

If you do not want to be that patient, then you can give them some light (be VERY careful that you do not create a fire hazard). I think you need to give them 14 hours of light each day to get them to lay in the fall.

:welcome

3. Sappysgirls

Sappysgirls New Egg

Jul 21, 2014
    We are in Va so fall has been in full swing for awhile now and since the time change it really makes the days feel so short. We have a mixed flock of Barded Rock, White Rock, Australorp and Easter eggers...one big happy flock! Lol. Would you recommend a regular light or would a heat lamp work? Thank you for your help!

4. ocap

ocap Overrun With Chickens

Jan 1, 2013
    Smithville, Missouri
    Hi and welcome,
    I added a rope light to my hen house and did not notice any increase in egg production.
    Dust can cause fires (explodes) given the perfect set of circumstances.
    I set my light to come on in the mornings and let the flock go to bed with normal sunset.

Sounds like you have a nice flock