We're very lucky to get 1 egg from 5 hens! Advice?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by CinnamonQueen, Oct 24, 2013.

1. CinnamonQueen

CinnamonQueen Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 2, 2012
    Texas
    I have a Leghorn, an Australorp, a Black sexlink, and 2 RIRs. For the past few weeks, only the australorp has been laying, and even then she only does about 4-5 per week. The Leghorn and RIRs are a year older than the other two, and one of the RIR's has been molting. The leghorn looks like she's finished with her molt, but this is my first time with molts, so I can't be completely positive. They are confined for most of the day, and get about an hour of freerange time per week. Is this why they aren't laying as much?
    Also, I'm in Texas, and the temperatures drop down to the 50s or 60s, so the winters aren't that bad.
    Any advice is appreciated.

2. BantamLover21

BantamLover21 Overrun With Chickens

Jul 24, 2013
    Do you know how old they are? Egg production decreases significantly (or so I've heard--my hens aren't that old, yet) after 3-4 years of age, though chickens will continue to lay even to 8-10 years. Its the time of year for them to be molting, so even if all but the leghorn aren't showing signs of molting, they likely will soon--at least with my chickens, they stop laying several weeks before you actually begin to notice feather loss. Your leghorn should begin laying soon if she is done molting, or she may not. At this time of year, the daylight hours are getting fewer, which signals hens to stop laying. They'll come into full production next spring.

3. Wyandottes7

Wyandottes7 Overrun With Chickens

Jul 24, 2013