Whart Breeds Have I Got??

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by shell25, Sep 18, 2010.

1. shell25

shell25 Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 18, 2010
    Derbyshire
    Hi All,

Im new to the whole chicken thing and have recently got our first 3 chickens they are approx 6-7 weeks old, and im not sure what breeds we have i have tried searching google to find out with no such look so im hoping you may be able to shed abit of light.

1 is black speckeled which i think maybe a Barred Rock or Dominique??

1 is various pale cream colours??

1 is jet black??

I would really appreciate your help and advice.

Also what age is it safe to give them the odd piece of fruit/veg.

[​IMG] Michelle

2. wordgirl

wordgirl One of the Shire-folk

Apr 14, 2009
    [​IMG] I hope that you'll love it here as much as I do!

If you have any pictures, that would help us try to figure out what breeds they are. Here's how to post them: https://www.backyardchickens.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=504

Where
    did you get them from? What color are the legs and underside of the feet of the three?

Edited to add: They should be old enough to have treats, I think. They do need to have access to grit, however, if you give them anything other than their normal chick feed. You can get pet bird grit from Wal•Mart or your pet store - just make sure it doesn't have added calcium (not good for growing chicks). If your local feed store carries chick grit, then that's good, too (mine doesn't).

Last edited: Sep 18, 2010
  3. shell25

Sep 18, 2010
    Derbyshire
    [​IMG]

Im not sure if ive uploaded the picture right??

Michelle [​IMG]

4. Anjeey

Anjeey Out Of The Brooder

Aug 31, 2010
    Yeah the picture is there, but the actual chickens are very difficult to make out. Maybe try and get one inside the run so we have an unobstructed view...? I could maybe take a guess that the black one is an Australorp? The speckled one looks like a Barred rock from here...but it really is hard to tell.