What age is best?

Discussion in 'Meat Birds ETC' started by Tony101775, Sep 26, 2011.

1. Tony101775

Tony101775 Out Of The Brooder

Sep 25, 2011
    Hi all,

What is the ideal age to butcher a cockerel?
    Does the breed make any difference, and can all Chickens and cockerels be eaten, or just certain breeds? Do they get tougher the older they get?
    Complete novice here.
    I have a couple of birds at the moment and i am not sure what sex they are. They are black copper Mirans, which i beleive are fairly large birds .
    I suspect they are cockerels as they look a bit large for their age and the comb is quite large. They do not fight one another though.
    They are around 20/22 weeks old have not laid, but have not crowed either. I expect one or the other any day now.
    What age would they begin to crow? If they are as i suspect Cockrels then I will have to butcher and eat them, but I dont want to do that until I am 100% sure of their sex. I also dont want to have a tough meat as I read Cocks are a tougher meat anyway.
    I want some egg layers but as yet have not had any of the few birds I have. I have 2 other very young birds approx 6 weeks old and am pretty sure that one of those is a cock also as it too has a larger comb that the other bird of the same age.
    How does one tell the sex?
    Is it just experience? It just looks that way so it must be. What about different breeds?
    So many questions and probably no sense at all.
    I alo have 12 blue hyline eggs in the incubator. Once these hopefully hatch I will need to sex these. The eggs look a little wierd being blue. Are they good to eat if I actually get a couple of the hens to lay next year. Will the resulting cockerels be ok to eat?
    Many thanks

Tony

2. Frenchchickens123

Frenchchickens123 Out Of The Brooder

Nov 25, 2010