What all goes in a run?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by landonjacob, Nov 27, 2012.

1. landonjacob

landonjacob Out Of The Brooder

Nov 25, 2012
    Columbia, South Carolina
    I'm completely new to chickens, but very excited! Building my coop with a run next month, and I've done a TON of research on this website (super helpful!), but my novice chicken brain has a question...
    Does there need to be food, water, and roosting poles in the run or just in the coop? Are there any other things that should be in a run?

Thanks ahead of time!

2. BrendaJ

BrendaJ Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 1, 2012
    Oregon
    My run has food, water & places to roost . I cover the top & part of the sides for winter. I think everyones set up is a little different. Good luck :)

3. landonjacob

Nov 25, 2012
    Columbia, South Carolina

Thanks! I live in the city and can only have 4 hens. So I was wondering if having food and water in the run would be overkill with that few of chickens? I think I'm definitely going to put a roost in there to given them something else to do in the run.

4. Green Lantern

Green Lantern Out Of The Brooder

Oct 2, 2012
    Dunstable, MA
    In the nice weather I keep some food out in the run, but not if there is rain/snow in the forecast. I try to keep the food dry and, besides, my girls and roo like to stand inside their dry coop and "observe" the outside world when it is wet out. I always leave water in both the coop and the run. If there is any food left in the run when nightfall comes, I bring it into the coop nice or it attracts rodents and I would worry about that bringing disease...

5. BrendaJ

BrendaJ Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 1, 2012
    Oregon