What am I.....

jrsqlc

Obsessed with Peafowl
12 Years
Dec 22, 2009
Northwest Ohio
I just got a few birds and im new to peafowl so i would like to know what color/pattern these birds are.
Thanks Again BYC

My Peacock
46025_dscf0776.jpg

I was told he is a PURE India Blue and was registered at birth, I didnt ask for the paperwork, Should I??

One of his Peahens, was told white but mixed with ??
46025_dscf0774.jpg

46025_dscf0775.jpg

And his other Peahen, I was told Black Shoulder
46025_dscf0773.jpg

first off, congrats on your new adventure!!! we have absolutely fallen in love with all our peafowl! they are just wonderful.

many, many, MANY more experienced than I but I do have bs and blue and to me, that first one (your male) looks like a bs yearling, just getting the dark blackshoulder feathering now. The second and thrid pics of the peahen, she looks to be bs and the last one looks like india blue. very, very nice looking birds.

here is a pic of an IB hen, she's about a year.
31148_dsc_0657.jpg

here is a shot of the ib pair together, male on left. (this pair is split to white, see the white wing feathers in this pic?).
31148_dsc_0654.jpg

this is an india blue male, note the barring on his back, yours looks to be coming in solid.
31148_dsc_0693.jpg

31148_dsc_0701.jpg

here is a bs hen, she's about 3.
31148_dsc_0118.jpg

here is a close up of my adult bs, he is one HANDSOME fella and he is the alpha male too!
love.gif
I don't have any pics uploaded of his back but the feathering is all black in color.
31148_dsc_0738.jpg

All I have to say is "WOW!"

Okay I have more to say
big_smile.png

Those are the prettiest birds. Absolutely stunning! Even the little BS Hen that isn't all sparkly and colorful like the boys is just beautiful.

WOW
love.gif

I'd agree, top one IS an India blue... the person was not lying. However, he is a blackshoulder india blue. I can't see his wing edges, but is that a spot of white I see? Another picture of his wings would be nice.