What are characteristics of a roo and at what age do you start to see

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by harleyjo, May 27, 2010.

1. harleyjo

harleyjo Chillin' With My Peeps

May 6, 2010
    SW Iowa
    Hi,

Being new I have lots of questions. What are the characteristics you look for in chicks that make you know or think you have a roo and what age will you start to see them? BTW... I love this forum and have done lots of searches to find so much info. I read a little bit every day on here.

2. bantam_n00b

bantam_n00b Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 17, 2010
    Im not an expert but i know the obvious would be the comb, roos usually have bigger combs at an earlier age also i heard that pullet chicks tend to feather faster but that is not always true. Also i heard that if the blood feathers are all the same length its usually a roo but thats not always accurate either.

3. fastpat

fastpat Chillin' With My Peeps

The earliest gender identifier is comb development, cockerels grow their combs much faster than pullets. This can be made more difficult by the type of comb the breed has. My Dominique cockerel has a rose comb, much flatter than my Partridge Rocks, but it is coming along and is much redder than the PR pullets.

In this photo, of 14 day old PR's, of the four chicks in focus, two are cockerels and two are pullets.
    [​IMG]

Although many of the pullets feathered in faster initially, not all of them did and there remained quite a bit of overlap with that. Now, in addition to the huge comb difference, the cockerels are much darker than the pullets.

Last edited: May 27, 2010
  4. azygous

azygous Chicken Obsessed

Dec 11, 2009
    Colorado Rockies
    When my Silver-laced Wyandottes were around six weeks old, I observed that two of the "pullets" were getting noticeably more vivid and colorful feathers. By seven weeks, it was obvious by the larger combs they were cockerels.

5. Toi-toi

Toi-toi Chillin' With My Peeps

May 12, 2010
    Central MA