what are my give aways?

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by new&learning, Aug 21, 2010.

1. new&learning

new&learning Out Of The Brooder

hi there...i am new with the chicken thing and learning more and more every day and loving every minute of it...i ran into a couple that was moving out of state and had a trio to give away...so of course they were "pretty"so i took them not knowing what i had...the two hens are colored a little differently...one is darker with freckles and the other i was able to get a good picture of and is lighter [​IMG]the young roo doesnt have tail feathers and i am assuming that another roo got them or he might be molting[​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]i hope these are good enough picture to tell...i also have a few questions: i have 3 EE and 1RIR that are about 6 months old...these resident chickens dont seem to be letting the new hens down off of the roost....i let them all out to 'run' from about 5-bedtime and i think that is the only time they eat or drink...i have had the trio for about 2 weeks and the picking on stage seems to be much better but they roost all the time but when i let them out ...is this maybe a breed thing or just still scared and shy...even the roo is really layed back( which im loving) any help is appropriated and thank you in advance...cathy [​IMG]

Last edited: Aug 21, 2010
  2. Chris09

Chris09 Circle (M) Ranch

Jun 1, 2009
    Ohio
    Before someone jumps in and says EE's I thought I better say there Faverolles..

Chris

3. Goose and Fig

Goose and Fig Grateful Geese

Apr 19, 2009
    Fall Creek Falls TN
    Quote:Yes- super sweet birds. I LOVE mine [​IMG]

4. speckledhen

speckledhen Intentional Solitude Premium Member

Quote:Yup, and the dark one is a rooster, the others are hens, in case you were wondering.

5. Pupsnpullets

Pupsnpullets Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 9, 2008
    SoCal desert