what are my turkeys?(pics)

Discussion in 'Turkeys' started by greenbird, May 18, 2011.

1. greenbird

greenbird Chillin' With My Peeps

May 11, 2011
    they came in a box that said black, but obviously they aren't black. i dont know much about turkeys, i just have them for pets.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Last edited: May 20, 2011
  2. kelidei

kelidei ~*Dances with chickens*~

Mar 18, 2009
    Northern Illinois
    Hi... I am a newbie to turkeys but in doing research on the breeds I would say those are Chocolate turkeys [​IMG]

3. Jocasta

Jocasta Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 8, 2011
    These are chocolate turkeys: http://www.porterturkeys.com/choctom1b.jpg

These
    are what we call Norfolk Black in the UK: http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/2/27/Norfolk_Black_Turkey,_Kew_Gardens.jpg

And
    these are what you guys call the Spanish Black: http://oursheepnmor.us/images/100_0340_76gc.jpg

Not
    sure what you'd call a Norfolk Black over there, but that's what your birds look like to me. We call a standard bronze over here a Norfolk/Cambridge Bronze - not sure if that's the same for the black.

4. Lagerdogger

Lagerdogger Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 30, 2010
    Aitkin, MN
    Its kind of hard to tell the color in these pictures because the light is at bad angles and turkeys tend to reflect colors that aren't really there (Skip the physics lecture).

The color looks somewhat chocolate, but the have barred wings. Pure chocolates should be black based. The wings on your birds suggest they might be bronze based birds with the chocolate genes. Other possibilities may also explain them.

It would be nice to have a picture of an entire turkey filling the frame with the sun at the photographers back. Try to get it with a neutral background as well (no snow) so that the colors of the bird show up well in the photo.

5. greenbird

May 11, 2011