What are the best breeds for an urban environment?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by Rex Mom, Jul 16, 2010.

1. Rex Mom

Rex Mom Out Of The Brooder

Mar 10, 2009
    Castro Valley,CA
    Hello all~

I am in the planning stages for a duck pen.. I think I have that part worked out. However, I am still trying to decide what breed to get. Can anyone give me some feedback on what breeds would work best in a urban/suburban yard? From what I've read I'm leaning toward Cayuga's or Welsh Harlequins. I thought I would ask the duck people here what they thought.

Thank's for any input!

2. sred98

sred98 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 18, 2008
    I am not a duck expert, but if you are worried about noise, my Muscovies are quiet. I [​IMG] them! I was supposed to be raising them for meat, but don't think I'm going to do that. [​IMG] I just adore them. They have great personalities, will follow you around like puppies, and aren't nearly as messy as my friend's mixed batch of ducks. I have a little blue wading pool for them, and they rarely go in except when it's really really hot. Mostly they just stand around it splashing their heads around, doing their little hissy whispers and wagging their tails.

Mine don't fly, not even to roost. They sleep in a pile on the floor of the barn in wood chips, kind of like a pile of puppies! LOL! They also come in a lot of different colors. I think the males are supposed to be pretty aggressive (like overcrowded roos) but I've got 2 drakes and 7 females and don't have any problems. [​IMG] Mine aren't aggressive to people at all. If anything, they get a little too much under my feet...or actually, they stand on my feet waiting for some petting!

Good luck with whatever you choose!

3. Rex Mom

Rex Mom Out Of The Brooder

Mar 10, 2009
    Castro Valley,CA
    Thank's Shelly!