what brand of incubator do you recommend?

Discussion in 'Quail' started by RainesRanch, Jul 4, 2010.

1. RainesRanch

RainesRanch Out Of The Brooder

Jun 22, 2010
    Nebraska panhandle
    Hi all! I was wonder....what brand of incubator do you recommend? Im a newbie to incubating eggs, in the past my birds just sat their own eggs! LOL I have been looking at both the little Giant and the Hovabator, both still air models with egg turners as I do work and cant always be here to turn the eggs manually. What I really need is a relatively inexpensive, user friendly, type incubator as I dont want to sink $100.00 into it and then be discouraged by no hatches! LOL.

2. aprophet

aprophet Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 12, 2010
    chesapeake Va.
    I recently bought a used hova bator off of craigslist it is working good for me I bought a egg turner the secret I think is to keep the temps around it the same and keep it away from drafts

3. darkfur

darkfur Chillin' With My Peeps

I have both a little giant and a hovabator. Although they are similar, the hovabator works better for me. An advantage the hova has over the lg is that the lg has a very low "tray" at the bottom and the baby quail tend to leap/fall out when you open it! The hova also seems to maintain its humidity better, and the lg I had to sit in a plastic tray as the channels are hard to fill and if they overflow the water comes out the bottom, which is not the case with the hova. So if you have the choice I say the hova. The main thing though, is to make sure you have a turner AND a fan in there if at all possible. If you have to choose only one pick the turner. A good thermometer and hygrometer too. I have a thermometer I love to bits because it is a transparent dial shape and on a suction cup, so it can suck right on to the window of either a hova or an lg. I have found electronic thermos and hygros don't stand up well to the rigours of incubation

4. IwannaBEaMERMAID

IwannaBEaMERMAID Chillin' With My Peeps