1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

What breed? Australorp?

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by umallan, Mar 12, 2013.

1. umallan

umallan New Egg

Mar 9, 2013
    South Chatham, MA
    Sole survivor from a hatchery shipment - though she was an Australorp but there is a lot of white coming into "her" feathers. Any ideas?

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. goldfinches

goldfinches Chillin' With My Peeps

May 6, 2011
    Maryland
    Maybe an Ancona? Does it have a single comb?

3. farmer boy

farmer boy Chillin' With My Peeps

its not an australorp for sure to much white and not enough black on its legs but i have no clue im not that good at telling their breeds when they are younger like chicks but once they get a little older like fully feathered i can tell better

4. my sunwolf

my sunwolf Chillin' With My Peeps

x2 although the leg color is off, but maybe that's just a hatchery problem

5. Mr MKK FARMS

Mr MKK FARMS Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

Sep 27, 2012
    Not an Ancona. I'm thinking its a Moulted Orpington chick!!
    :)

6. umallan

umallan New Egg

Mar 9, 2013
    South Chatham, MA
    I had to Google Moulted Orp - very pretty but I doubt Meyers is breeding those. I didn't order an Ancona (could be a freebie?) - I guess I'm going to have to wait a bit and see what happens!

Last edited: Mar 12, 2013
  7. ktmikal

ktmikal Out Of The Brooder

Dec 27, 2012
    Colorado Springs, CO
    That looks just like my Ancona babies. They have little spots on their heads and were mostly white.

8. ktmikal

ktmikal Out Of The Brooder

Dec 27, 2012
    Colorado Springs, CO