What breed is she?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by Jrose, Oct 20, 2013.

1. Jrose

Jrose Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 6, 2013
    I got some "battery hens" from the local factory in spring 2012. One of the girls is very pretty, and the closest breed I've found to her is the phoenix I think. Attached are some photos. Her beak had been clipped down heavily and grew back cockeyed, but she manages just fine. She's also blind in one eye. She rarely ever lays, but when she does they're small pure-white eggs. She's a cool hen! Any ideas on what she might be?
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. BettyBlueSilkie

BettyBlueSilkie Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 19, 2013
    WA
    must be a dorking (I know for sure)THE CUTEST CHICKEN EVER!!

3. Jrose

Jun 6, 2013
    I thought dorkings were characterized by really short legs? Her legs seem very proportionate to me. I'm new to chickens so I could be totally wrong there. I can see some similarities comparing to photos on the web....

4. Jrose

Jun 6, 2013
    Just did a little searching on breeds.

Dorking:
    Size: Heavy (7-8 lbs)
    Rarity: Rare
    Purpose: Dual
    Recognized Varieties: White (Rose Comb); Silver-Gray, Colored and Red (Single Comb)
    Egg Laying: Good (3/wk)
    Egg Color: Cream or Tinted
    Egg Size: Medium
    Comb Type: Depends on Variety
    Crested: No
    Feathered Legs: No
    Number of Toes: 5

Phoenix:

Size: Small (4-5 lbs)
    Rarity: Common
    Purpose: Ornamental
    Recognized Varieties: Silver, Gold
    Egg Laying: Poor (1/wk)
    Egg Color: Cream or Tinted
    Egg Size: Medium
    Comb Type: Single Comb
    Number of Toes: 4

She's no more than 3 or 4 lbs and she's not thin or underweight. She lays extremely infrequently. Usually I'll get one every day or two for a week then nothing for a month. Her eggs are small and pure white. She definitely only has 4 toes. I don't know what a "single comb" is...

5. Jrose

Jun 6, 2013