What breed might this five week old baby be?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by BasicWhiteChick, Nov 29, 2016.

1. BasicWhiteChick

BasicWhiteChick New Egg

Nov 29, 2016
    Norway
    I've been fostering this little baby since it was an egg, but I don't know what breed it is (or what sex it is, but I'm suspecting it's a she)
    [​IMG]
    It's a white chicken with a few black spots. Mixed breed?

2. junebuggena

junebuggena Chicken Obsessed

Apr 17, 2015
    Long Beach, WA
    Possibly a Leghorn. Definitely a cockerel. And he looks sick. Has he been getting medicated starter?

3. BasicWhiteChick

BasicWhiteChick New Egg

Nov 29, 2016
    Norway
    What makes you think it's a cockerel?
    (I've only been interested in chickens for about six weeks, so I'm just learning)
    We gave it medicated starter the first week, then switched to unmedicated.
    It's also got one feather on each foot, and a few more are growing out.

4. junebuggena

junebuggena Chicken Obsessed

Apr 17, 2015
    Long Beach, WA
    If the legs are feathered, then it's probably a Cochin. And that comb is too pink, too early. Definitely a cockerel. That hunched up way it's sitting is not normal, and indicates illness. The most common illness for chicks is coccidia. Left untreated, it can be fatal. Get some Corid ASAP. Medicated starter should be fed for at least 2 weeks after the first contact with soil, to help prevent against coccidiosis.

5. donrae

donrae Hopelessly Addicted Premium Member

Jun 18, 2010
    Southern Oregon
    [​IMG]

Mixed breed cockerel.

cockerel (young rooster) due to the large amount of comb for the age. Pullets (young females) don't have hardly any comb to speak of this young.

Mixed breed due to the color and light leg feathering. A white bird with a few black spots is pretty much a mixed breed bird. Feathered legs are partially dominant, so having a few feathers means one parent was feather legged, the other wasn't.