1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

What breed of ducks are these?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by dutchbunny83, Jan 24, 2014.

1. dutchbunny83

dutchbunny83 Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 11, 2012
    Fayetteville, NC
    I'm new to ducks.
    Ideal Poultry ran an emergency sale on ducks because too many hatched so on a whim I got 20 (17 made it here alive).
    It was hatchery choice, straight run, whatever was extra. Unfortunately my 3 that arrived dead were the prettiest!
    I know the bigger yellow ones are white Pekins.
    I am *guessing* the one brown one could be a Campbell? And the black ones with white chests could be Swedish?
    I have no idea!
    I'm thinking there are only 4 different breeds, but I don't know.
    Also, the big ones I think are Pekins are beating up on all the smaller ones and trying to rip feathers from the other heads. I have them in a bigger brooder, I just stuck them in this tub when they first came out of the box while I was setting up the brooder & warming the heat lamp. Is there anything I can do to stop it???

Anyone have tips on guessing gender? Also, what kind of ducks do you think I have?

THANKS!!!

White Pekin?
    [​IMG]

Swedish, maybe? Any other guesses?
    [​IMG]

No idea! There are several of these that I think are all the same breed. The patterning is different (and some doesn't really look like pattern), but they're smaller than the White Pekins, and they're yellow but have darker down on their faces.
    [​IMG]

And then there's just one of the little brown guy
    [​IMG]

And this is a group shot when they first got here
    [​IMG]

2. Miss Lydia

Miss Lydia Running over with Blessings Premium Member

Oct 3, 2009
    Western N.C.