What Breed Of Turkey Am I Raising?

Discussion in 'Turkeys' started by Patchesnposies, Sep 16, 2010.

1. Patchesnposies

Patchesnposies Chickens.....are my ONE weakness!

Mar 5, 2008
    Southern New Mexico
    My husband picked up these delightful, very healthy, turkey poults as wee babies at our local feed store a couple/few months ago, where he was told they were Bronze Turkeys. They don't look like the pictures I have seen of Bronze Turkeys. Can anyone verify that they are or are not BT's?

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

If they are Bronze Turkey's are they the fast growing broad breasted? They don't seem to be growing very fast, but then I am a turkey novice. LOL

Thanks in advance for any help!

2. OmaBird

OmaBird Chillin' With My Peeps

May 10, 2010
    CA High Desert
    Do you have any pictures of them when you first got them?

3. Patchesnposies

Mar 5, 2008
    Southern New Mexico
    Quote:Yes, I do, let me post a picture or two....

4. Patchesnposies

Mar 5, 2008
    Southern New Mexico
    I am afraid that they aren't as small in these photos as I thought they were.

[​IMG]

They were fascinated with the grommets on my son Michael's boots.

[​IMG]

Do these pictures help at all?

5. OmaBird

OmaBird Chillin' With My Peeps

May 10, 2010
    CA High Desert
    They are bronze based from the baby pictures. I have lots of sweetgrass but they are white with a gray stripe as babies. A palm crossed on bronze will show a feather or two being white. I have not seen as much white from a single cross so I wonder if they have more than one palm gene??? I would call them a tri color of some kind. I would like to see them as they grow up.

Anyone else have any ideas?

6. Frosty

Frosty Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 30, 2008
    ND