1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

What breed(s) would work?

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by Pineapple, Nov 12, 2015.

1. Pineapple

Pineapple Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 5, 2013
    I am relatively new to chickens. I am looking for a breed that shares all the following qualities (if possible):

-heat AND cold tolerant
    -good layers
    -tame/friendly/calm/nonaggressive
    -don't need a ton of space
    -come in several colors/patterns
    -good foragers
    -not flighty
    -relatively small (not necessarily bantams, but if a bantam fits that works too)

So far I'm thinking of Wyandottes. But I am open to other suggestions.

2. Egghead_Jr

Egghead_Jr Overrun With Chickens

Oct 16, 2010
    NEK, VT
    If you want a variety that comes in several colors look for blue chickens. Besides the blue plumage you get black and splash color from this one variety. Color diversity with one breed, one variety. The blue variety has a black pigment inhibitor. So with a bird getting half the genes from father and half from mother the inhibitor is double, single or absent resulting in splash, blue or black (same order of inhibitor). A splash mated to black gives all blue offspring, blue over blue results in all three colors and so on.

Unfortunately the quality of blue coloring is far from up to standard in almost all breeds excepting the Andalusian. The dark lacing is all but absent but still a good looking bird and if wanting to breed a variety that needs work. There are so many breed in blue variety or blue wheaten now you can practically choose the breed then find the blue variety eggs for sale.

You'll get a lot of opinions on best docile egg layer breed. I'll toss my favorite into the mix with Plymouth Rock. Yes they come in blue.

3. Pineapple