What breed ?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Mike Fronczak, Mar 5, 2012.

1. Mike Fronczak

Mike Fronczak Out Of The Brooder

Feb 16, 2012
    Hilton, NY
    I'm new to chickens we have a horse, goat, 7 cows and 3 cats. We are looking for chickens for two reasons; I'm told they will help control insects and eggs, egg size isn't a huge concern if we need to use 2 small one instead if 1 I'm ok with that, the cats killing them does concern me. Of the breeds at TSC, which should we be looking at ?

2. OkChickens

OkChickens Orpingtons Are Us

Dec 1, 2010
    Owasso, Oklahoma
    How many chickens are you thinking about getting? I think Barred Rocks, Buff Orpingtons, Rhode Island Reds, and EE's are great choices for a beginner! I have Buff Orpingtons but they are not hatchery stock. They are very docile and easy to handle. Mine are pretty good layers also!

Nate

3. bird boy

bird boy Out Of The Brooder

Mar 1, 2012
    The Rhode Islands Reds are good egg layers of large brown eggs. This chickens can be a little more agressive then other breeds and may do better with cats around. Good Luck

4. Bullitt

Bullitt Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 16, 2012
    Texas
    It sounds like you are going to allow the chickens to free range if you want them to eat the bugs, right?

If you are going to keep them in a coop at night and allow them to free range during the day, I suggest Leghorns. They free range well, and they can fly short distances to get into a tree to avoid a predator, like a dog. Leghorns are the best egg-layers, and they produce 6 eggs a week on average in a year. Also, Leghorns have the best feed-to-egg ratio, meaning that you won't have to feed them as much as other breeds to get those eggs. A large percentage of their diet could come from free ranging.

My favorite is the Single Comb Light Brown Leghorn, but the White Leghorn is a little better at laying eggs.