1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login, otherwise join BYC here!

What breeds are my chickens?

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by chick chicks, Feb 19, 2013.

1. chick chicks

chick chicks Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 10, 2012
    Vancouver Island
    I know two of them are mixed araucanas :) But I'm not sure about the rest of them?

[​IMG]
    One of the Araucana crosses (I think) she has the fluffy cheeks and that is an araucana trait right? She is the sweetest girl you'll ever meet :)

[​IMG]
    The one in front is the other araucana mix, she has amost no tail and fluffy cheeks as well. The black one in the back is the one I am most wondering about, she has black feathers with brown downward v's on them (pardon my terminology, I'm new to chicken raising) she is VERY sketchy and will not let anyone (including my roo) near her, she lays medium brown eggs, and just today got broody on me and was cackling and puffing up and pecking. She is also very small in comparison to the others. The other white in the back I think is just your typical egg farm hen, she has a ring around her ankle (we bought her from someone else just recently) so i think she may have been tagged at some point?

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]
    The roo I think might be a RIR? I didn't get a pic of his entire body, sorry :( but his mid section is slightly darker than his neck and his tail is black but shines a pretty iridescent blue/green in the sun :)
    Sorry for any stupid question I may have asked but me and my friend just up and decided to hatch eggs one day and we now have our happy little family :) we don't have very much experience in determining breeds :p
    Thank You! :)

2. ramirezframing

ramirezframing Overrun With Chickens

Mar 2, 2011
    Knee Deep