What breeds should I get in the spring?

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by UBkevy, Jul 22, 2010.

1. UBkevy

UBkevy Chillin' With My Peeps

May 5, 2009
    Buffalo
    I am looking to try a few new breeds come spring and I am looking for some input. I am still new to chickens and can use some help from you Pros. I have Barred Rocks, Partridge Rocks, Silver laced Wyandottes, Buff Orpingtons and 2 odd balls I am not sure what they are. I am looking for breeds that are mellow, cold hardy, fair to good layers, quiet and preferably not white eggs. I like my flock to be full of different colored birds it might be odd but i figure the flock might as well look cool haha. I have been thinking Black Australorp, Ameraucanas and Cochin's. Are there any breeds I really should be looking at or any 1st hand experience with these breeds, I prefer to hear details from people with the birds then the hatcheries details.

2. gryeyes

gryeyes Covered in Pet Hair & Feathers

Those three are great choices. Also try to get Welsummer - the eggs are gorgeous, a lovely terra-cotta color. And the birds are so pretty, too! I have all you mentioned and the ones I've mentioned. I, too, like a colorful flock. They're so much fun to watch! And egg gathering is such a treat.

3. Morgan7782

Morgan7782 Dense Egg Goo

Mar 22, 2010
    Sacramento CA
    For the Ameraucana's are you looking to buy true? Or are you getting Easter Eggers from a feed store/hatchery? The only reason I ask is because True Ameraucana's differ greatly from Hatchery Bred EE's which are usually labeled Ameraucana's.