1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

What can I expect at a poultry show?

Discussion in 'Chickenstocks, Shows, Meet-Ups' started by HoneyTree, Aug 3, 2011.

1. HoneyTree

HoneyTree Out Of The Brooder

Jul 22, 2011
    Northwest Arkansas
    Hi, everyone!

I'm an enthusiast, not yet a chicken keeper. I'm in the reading-the-books-and-websites phase. But I found out there's a poultry show coming up in my city in November. I'm planning on going to it just for fun, but I'm wondering, too, if I can expect to buy some supplies and pullets there, if I get myself to that stage in time. Would anyone be willing to tell me what I can expect? Also, what might be the most valuable parts of a poultry show for a total beginner?

Thanks!

2. DaughterOfEve

DaughterOfEve Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 3, 2009
    Montague, MI
    HoneyTree, you can expect to find stuff for sale from vitamins to transport cages, feed, and medicine for poultry. There is usually a sale area for people with birds to sell. I will caution you though that breeders generally keep the best for themselves or if you are just looking for good stock then its a great place to shop. Another caution is to only buy inside the show area at approved sale cages. Some people will set up shop out the back of their truck out in the parking lot. I would not recommend that.

Shows are a lot of fun to see all the different breeds up close and personal and also you can talk with folks about why they like a certain breed to help you find your nitch.

Have fun!

3. Oregon Blues

Oregon Blues Overrun With Chickens

Apr 14, 2011
    Central Oregon
    If you don't find birds to purchase, you might be able to find a breeder who has birds that you like and make arrangement to buy chicks when he has them.

4. Majestic Lane Poultry