what changes do baby chickens go through their first months in life?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by boxofchirpers, Dec 19, 2011.

1. boxofchirpers

boxofchirpers New Egg

Dec 19, 2011
    from the time they hatch.
    i have 6 silkie baby bantam chicks this is how im planning.
    Month 1- Time to go outside since they have feathers
    Month 2- Eat adult chicken food
    Month 3- bulk up on weight and have all their feathers
    Month 4- start making adult noises and no more chirping
    Month 5- Reach adult size
    Month 6- Adulthood ready for mating and lay eggs to sit on.

am i right?
    [​IMG]

2. bobbieschicks

bobbieschicks Chicken Tender

Jun 24, 2011
    King George, VA
    My Coop
    First - [​IMG] to BYC! Looks like you have a great plan in place! Just be flexible on the timing of it all and you'll do fine [​IMG] I'm new to chickens this year - but I have a little experience with them now.

As far as when to go outside - that will depend on your outside temps, where they are going to live once outside and how feathered out your chicks are at the time. If your weather is like ours (30F at night & 40F-50F at day) you will want to make sure they are either fully feathered or have a heat lamp to supplement at night. Most chicks are fully feathered by 6-8 weeks old - that's closer to 2 months old. Silkies take longer to acclimate to colder weather unless they have a standard breed around to keep them warm.

Here is what my list would look like after having had chicks since the spring.

Feed: Medicated chick start or chick start & grow food until they are laying (older then 18 weeks sometimes not until they are 24 weeks old - wait until you get an egg from them because they don't need the calcuim until that time)

Week 4: move to brooder outside with supplemental heat lamp at night and during really cold days.
    Week 5-6: work on integrating with larger flock by letting them see but not touch each other through fenced areas.