What Chicken Breeds are these pretty birds? newbie here

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by vanalpaca, Mar 29, 2011.

1. vanalpaca

vanalpaca Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 18, 2011
    Clyde in NW Ohio
    [​IMG]
    IS this a roo? is it a cochin or something else and is it a splash or what?

There are a couple of them in this photo two and I don't know if the striped ones are barred rocks or what.
    [​IMG]
    I missed out on these locally on craigslist! They were within 45 minutes of me. I was thinking about getting 2 layers for NOW instead of having to wait until my baby chicks grow up August or so.

Thanks for help Identifying them. I thought they were really pretty chickens but no clue whether the photos are SQ or named breeds or what??

I do have one other newbie question--how safe is it to get other birds? My 'group' are all from 2 or 3 batches at the same TSC and they got them from Mt Healthy Hatcherie. Will I need to give my chicks any vaccines for anything and when. They were shipped as day old chicks and so far all are alive and growing well.

Trying to stay away from TSC because they have 'Americaunas' and I just read the catalog on them and they won't be 'true' so I know to see about getting some SQ lines from my friend that is trying to raise them instead.

OUCH! Chicken math hurts!

2. JulieNKC

JulieNKC Overrun With Chickens

Sep 25, 2010
    Kansas City
    I think they are light brahmas. The striped are barred rocks. If you get new birds you should quarantine a month, then introduce them.
    [​IMG]

3. Celtic Hill

Celtic Hill Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 7, 2010
    Scotland CT
    So im almost positive they are columbian patterned, In the second pick the cocks appear to have feather legs, but in the first it almost looks like they have rose combs... So With that said, i think they are a cross.