What color is my Araucana bantam?

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by Mrs. Fluffy Puffy, Jan 26, 2010.

1. Mrs. Fluffy Puffy

Mrs. Fluffy Puffy Fluffy Feather Farm

Jan 26, 2010
    Texas, Panhandle
    Hello I'm new to BYC I just sighed up today! I was wondering what color my araucana bantam Jimmy is? Is he or ( She ) black or blue? I don't know if he/she is a rooster or a hen can you help me out? Mrs. Fluffy Puffy
    [​IMG]

2. WilczenskiFarm

WilczenskiFarm Chillin' With My Peeps

May 6, 2009
    Pembroke, MA
    I'm still a newbie... but I say hen. How old is she?
    I'm not experienced at all on color, but I can see where you're comin from on the color issue.

[​IMG]

3. Mrs. Fluffy Puffy

Jan 26, 2010
    Texas, Panhandle
    Well lets see she was hatched around last May. Oh good I was REALLY hoping that she'd be a hen! Now I have to rename her don't I! lol What should I name her? Oh, she came out of 2 standard Araucana roosters but she's a banty, because the standard roosters breed the bantam hens! Crazy chickens I really wonna put my banties in a different pen so that won't happen though! lol

4. Illia

Illia Crazy for Colors

Oct 19, 2009
    Forks, WA
    Looks blue to me - Since most blues are created, they vary. Although - This isn't a "true" Araucana - Isn't this an EE or an Ameraucana?

5. Mrs. Fluffy Puffy

Jan 26, 2010
    Texas, Panhandle
    I think shes a EE but she could be a Araucana not sure,though. When do you think she'll start laying? Will her eggs be GREEN or BLUE?
    Can't wait to fined out!

6. aussieheelr

aussieheelr Chillin' With My Peeps

Not an Araucana. Araucana have tufts, no beard, and that lady has a beard. Where did you get her? What color are her legs? By her tail set I would guess she's a Ameraucana but she very likely could be an EE too. But that is a SHE, not a he bonus

check out the sticky on the towards the top of the breeds section.

7. PlumTuckered

PlumTuckered Chillin' With My Peeps