What Comes First?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by simplynewt, Sep 19, 2011.

1. simplynewt

simplynewt Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 12, 2011
    Alabama
    My Coop
    OK, th3e coop is almost done. I got alot more done to it this weekend than anticipated. To get geared up for the new residents, what do I need to get first, The hens or the rooster? Being that I have never done chickens before, to most , this may sound like a silly question but I dont know so I ask.

Also, will the rooster be staying outside of the coop? Another duh right?

There will be plenty more newbie questions from me and I thank you all for your patience and understanding.

Pics of the new coop (Ive never built one before) comi8ng soon.

2. Niss

Niss Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 29, 2011
    My roos sleep inside.

Edit to add...I would say get them at once, from the same source, and be done with that. Pick them up at different times, especially from different places, and you wopuld need to think about quarentines.

Last edited: Sep 19, 2011
  3. simplynewt

Sep 12, 2011
    Alabama
    My Coop
    Thanks Niss. Any particular age I should be looking for? I was planning on hitting a local auction. What should be my concerns?

4. citychickx6

citychickx6 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 14, 2011
    Loveland
    IMO The main concern is health. Have you researched what kind of chicken might be right for you?

[​IMG]
    I am sure you will find a lot of useful information here.

5. nurse_turtle

nurse_turtle Chillin' With My Peeps

May 28, 2011
    Foothills of NC
    You should read up on what to look for in a healthy chicken. Pay careful attention to the legs as well (for scaly leg mites). If you want 'em for eggs, there are certain breeds for that and others to be used for meat and others for both.

6. mandelyn

mandelyn Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 30, 2009
    Goshen, OH