what did I do wrong?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by crankster76, Jan 27, 2012.

1. crankster76

crankster76 Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 25, 2011
    Kingston,Tn.
    this is my first time with a bator. I did the dry inc. temp swings on my havabator from 98.4 to 100.6 during the cycle.humidity was at 25%. on day 18 I moved the eggs over to a still bator with the bottom temp as 101.at 75% humidity. well this is only day 20 and I wake up to hatching eggs and 1 baby in the bator[​IMG] . why are they hatchn early?[​IMG]

2. Highlander

Highlander Tartan Terror

Oct 1, 2008
    Prague
    Well first of all if they are hatching then you did something right, not wrong! Are they bantams? Sometimes they can hatch a little early. Otherwise your temps might have been a tad high. But sounds like things are going well so congrats!

3. Chemguy

Chemguy Chillin' With My Peeps

May 30, 2011
    Springfield, Ohio
    From what I understand, there will always be variability in a hatch, just like humans aren't born at exactly 40 weeks every time. We just try to make sure that the variation is as small as possible by artificailly incubating. No two eggs are identical, and no group of eggs will be exactly the same as another. So, hatching 'early' is not a sign that something is wrong. If you want to track this down, it's possible that the readings on your thermometer are slightly off, which many agree can lead to a slightly early or slightly late hatch. To me, it sounds like you've done a lot right, the chicks just had other ideas.

4. Loretta212

Loretta212 Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 27, 2011
    Meriden ct
    i have ued a bator twice now and both times they started hatching at day 19. they were bantams both times doesnt mean you did anything wrong sometimes eggs dont hatch until day 22 i think ever hatch is different . sometimes the thermometer is off and temps can be a little higher or lower and cause eggs to hatch at different times

5. pawtraitart