what do I do with this broody?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by MyBlackHen, Dec 11, 2010.

1. MyBlackHen

MyBlackHen Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 26, 2010
    Upstate New York
    Hi there, this is my first year with chickens and I need some advice! My black Australorp appears to be broody - note: we don't have any roosters! She has been sitting in one nesting box for at least one whole day, maybe more. At first I thought that maybe she was sick or hurt ... however, I think she is okay. She is certainly feisty enough! She was nipping at me as I was trying to get a better look at her, and practically growling at me to leave her alone. I didn't pick her up but from what I can see, she looks okay. Our nesting boxes open from the back so I looked from the back side to see if she is sitting on eggs. I saw at least one. I brought her a handful of food but she wouldn't eat anything.

So, since we don't have any roosters, this egg is not going to turn into a baby chick! What do I do with this broody hen?

Thanks in advance for your help!
    [​IMG]

2. Miss Lydia

Miss Lydia Running over with Blessings Premium Member

Oct 3, 2009
    Western N.C.
    alot of people on here say to put her on wire like a coop with wire on the bottom for a few days, since I don't have anything like that ,I just lock them out of their coop for a couple of days, but it's cold now so wouldn't want to have to do that. Take all the eggs away from her, and keep getting her out of the nest box.

3. Cleebee

Cleebee Out Of The Brooder

Jan 30, 2009
    Aurora, CO