What do I feed my girls to put some weight on them?

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by maclady, Sep 21, 2011.

1. maclady

maclady Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 28, 2011
    Lost in Space
    I'm new to chicken keeping & have 4 BOs. How do I get them to put on some weight? I picked them up yesterday to check them over and it seems like they are kind of skinny under all the fluffy feathers. They act fine, feathers are nice and glossy, eat well and lay great but I think they may be a little skinny. Eggs are hard shelled w/orange yolks. I have been feeding them Purina Layena Crumbles & Purina Flock Raiser mixed at 75/25. I had the girls on flock raiser after the starter and before they started laying and am trying to use it up. I also keep oyster shell available to them along with grit. They get at minimum 2 hours a day free range time with access to a plot of Omega 3 forage for chickens from Happy Valley. They usually get two handfuls of a mixture to get them back into their coop after free ranging. Mix is a handful of scratch, handful of BOSS, and some millet and if that doesn't work I add mealworms. Treats lately have been squash, grapes, oatmeal and 5 strawberries. I just want the best for my girls. I may just be wrong about their weight cause they are hatchery chicks and they range in size, plus I don't know a lot about chickens. I have one large lady and they go down in size from there. Any input would be appreciated. Thanks [​IMG]

2. sherylreno

sherylreno Chillin' With My Peeps

May 13, 2011
    Reno, Nevada
    Since they are laying eggs with good shells and the only issue you see is they may be skinny. IMO if they are laying eggs and are eating/drinking then leave them alone. They eat when they need to and you would have more issues if they are over weight then you would if they were slightly under weight but it actually sounds like their weight is just fine for them.

3. BoltonChicken

BoltonChicken Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 14, 2011