What do you feed your meat birds????

Discussion in 'Meat Birds ETC' started by ChickLuver, Jan 23, 2009.

1. ChickLuver

ChickLuver Songster

Dec 6, 2008
    Walton, New York
    I am new to meat birds and am trying to figure out what percentage protien, fiber etc.... Thanks!

2. Big Red

Big Red Songster

Jan 12, 2009
    Paradise
    From 1 to 21 days you can feed them 2oz per bird Protein 20%, Fat 6.5% and Fiber 4.0%.
    For 21 to finish the protein should be 19% and everything else the same. This is if you have Conish rocks and also based on what you are feed ur feeding them. These feeds i'v'e found varied.....
    For dual-purpose birds i suppose you can use the same formula

Hope that gives you some sort of idea to start of with.

3. jaku

jaku Songster

You'll be fine with anything over 20%

4. We feed Homestead Fast Grow All-Natural from Hubbard Feeds. Works great!!

Jim

5. ChickLuver

ChickLuver Songster

Dec 6, 2008
    Walton, New York
    Thank you everyone!!!! I really appreciate it!! [​IMG]

6. Salt and Light

Salt and Light Songster

May 20, 2008
    Osteen, FL
    I feed all my birds the same thing: Purina Start and Grow, non-medicated.

7. MissPrissy

MissPrissy Crowing Premium Member

May 7, 2007
    Forks, Virginia
    The first 2 weeks they get Purina Start and Grow. All they can eat around the clock.

The next 6 - 8 weeks they get a grower ration. No food at night. Only water.

The last 2 weeks I begin mixing cracked corn into their feed for a week.

The final week they are finishing out on corn only.

I am not feeding them to keep them healthy and growing forever.

I feed them to better serve my purpose which is to fill my table.

2 weeks, with how much they eat, it is enough time to put on a layer fat. A nice thick pad of fat at the cavity opening is what I like to see.

I do not waste the fat. I harvest the fat and render the oils from the tissue and use it for savory pie crusts, dumplings, etc.