What do you get when you breed lavender roo over blue or lavender hen?

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by muslw4, Jul 1, 2011.

1. muslw4

muslw4 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 7, 2011
    Northern Illinois
    I'm fairly new to chickens. I really like the blue or lavender colors. I have a chance to buy hatching eggs of a lavender roo over blue and lavender hens. What are the color possibilities? Could any be black?
    thanks!

2. sjarvis00

sjarvis00 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 4, 2009
    Shawnee, OKlahoma
    Quote:All of the offspring should be black. The real problem with the mating is when you breed them back you may get some Lav. and Some Blue the majority will be split for Lav. in varying amounts from 25-75%

3. Three Cedars Silkies

Three Cedars Silkies Overrun With Chickens

Apr 17, 2008
    Gainesville, Fl.
    The genetics calculator says 50% black and 50% blue from the lavender roo over the blue hen and, of course 100% lavenders from the lav roo over the lav hen.

4. muslw4

May 7, 2011
    Northern Illinois
    Ok, so then if you breed a splash over blue you should get blue? or at least majority? I know genetics can be tricky, just trying to get a mimimal grasp. If 2 blues are bred would the offsping be blue or black or a mix of the two?

5. muslw4

May 7, 2011
    Northern Illinois
    Thanks, guess I need to find the genetic calculator and study up on some genetics.

6. Three Cedars Silkies

Three Cedars Silkies Overrun With Chickens

Apr 17, 2008
    Gainesville, Fl.
    Blue/Black/Splash (BBS)

Blue x Blue = 50% Blue, 25% Black, 25% Splash

Blue x Splash = 50% Blue, 50% Splash

Blue x Black = 50% Blue, 50% Black

Black x Splash = 100% Blue

Black x Black = 100% Black

Splash x Splash = 100% Splash

NOTES - - Black can NEVER parent a Splash Bird, and Splash can NEVER parent a Black Bird.

Lavender

Lavender (Self Blue) x Lavender (Self Blue) = 100% Lavender (Self Blue)