what do you think about this?!

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by DUCKGIRL89, Nov 4, 2011.

1. DUCKGIRL89

DUCKGIRL89 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 28, 2011
    TN
    hi, I have been raising ducks for a few months now, and im gonna be adding some chickens! I was wondering what you all thought about these breeds I want. I dont really want to be breeding, I just want a mixed flock to sell eggs. I was planing on ordering....
    4 Blue silkie bantams straight run
    1 Barred rock pullet
    1 buff orpington pullet
    1 rode island white pullet
    1 light brahma pullet

I was wondering what you all think about these breeds? When I got my first ducks, I did it all wrong and was very unhappy with my choice I made, and I am really excited about the whole chicken gig. I wont be breeding the last four hens. But I want to breed the silkies if I get enough hens. But all I really want are some chickens. So if any of you have these breeds, please tell me how good of pets/layer/and broodies they are... Thanks!

2. TinyChickenLady

TinyChickenLady Chillin' With My Peeps

You can't go wrong with the silkies [​IMG]
    I have 8. Don't ask me genders.... I don't know yet LoL But I've been told they're good layers and very broody. Mine are still getting to know me but they are so cute and sweet and funny.
    I don't have any of the others yet but my neighbors have a barred rock and she seems sweet although they don't have their chickens very socialized. I think she's a good layer too.

3. DUCKGIRL89

Apr 28, 2011
    TN
    Thats great! My mom has some silkies! They are so dang cute! I love them, she has a pair. She used to have a ton but they all went missing but the two. So me and her are getting some next year! I always have wanted a mixed flock of chickens! Not sure why though [​IMG]

4. SteveBaz

SteveBaz Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 6, 2011
    Pacific North West
    Are you going to hatch your own? Fun ?
    4 Blue silkie bantams straight run