what egg color will i get - new to chickens

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by nunlef, Nov 20, 2011.

1. nunlef

nunlef Out Of The Brooder

Jun 23, 2011
    Northern Virginia
    Hi,
    I have decided to keep a rooster for the purpose of making my flock bigger (and so my kids can see cutie babies).

I have 2 black copper marans, and a easter egger (BCM hen crossed with ameraucana roo). I will also be introducing 2 blue marans (no copper) hens

The Rooster I keep will be a BCM.

I think the egg color is determined by the male (please correct me if I'm wrong), so is it correct that the easter egger will lay olive eggs, but her daughters will lay brown eggs?

Please help, I have a master plan for our farmette, and Marans are an integral part of it. (it's a themed farm, so fancy-pants products only [​IMG] sadly, I'm only half joking)
    Oh, and the blues are about 1.5, the rest are only 10 weeks old.

Thanks,
    Heather

2. berkeleysprings

berkeleysprings Chillin' With My Peeps

Quote:olive color

3. nunlef

Jun 23, 2011
    Northern Virginia
    Thanks. I haven't seen an olive egg in real life, but maybe it's worth trying it anyway. The beard on our mix is so neat.

My husband and I get out to Berkley Springs every now and then, it's beautiful land up there. If it were close enough to DC, we would have bought there in a second [​IMG]

Thanks,
    Heather

4. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner True BYC Addict

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas
    With EE's crossed with other chickens it is not clearcut. The simple answer is there is no way to know until you see the eggs.

The basic shell color is going to be either blue or white. The brown or green is caused by the hen depositing a brown layer over that basic color. The shade of brown or green is detemined by how much brown she puts on top of the base color. If you break an egg open and look at the inside of the shell, you can see the base color.